Home > Uncategorized > Googles Android SDK Issues

Googles Android SDK Issues

I downloaded and installed the Android SDK today, along with the JDK and Eclipse tools, and the Android Development Tool (ADT). I was all set to get my self up and running with a Hello World application but have had nothing but issues all day long. It’s really got me frustrated as I’ve never developed with either eclipse or Java, and so I’m trying to find the issues to a SDK using software I’ve never used before with a language and compiler that’s completely new to me.
So lets start at the beginning.

I went over to the Android developer site today and checked it out. The first thing that I’m greeted with is that Android 2.1 is now available and that I can download it. Sweet.
I moved over to the downloads page and downloaded the latest version of the SDK, the December 2009 release. According to Google’s Android site disclaimer at the top of the page,

    • The SDK downloadable package includes only the latest version of the Android SDK Tools.
    • Once you’ve installed the SDK, you now use the Android SDK and AVD Manager to download all of the SDK components that you need, such as Android platforms, SDK add-ons, tools, and documentation.
    • The new approach is modular — you can install only the components you need and update any or all components without affecting other parts of your development environment.
    • In short, once you’ve installed the new SDK, you will not need to download an SDK package again. Instead, you will use the Android SDK and AVD Manager to keep your development environment up-to-date.

Ok, so I only need to download the SDK displayed to me, install it and the AVD manager will handle downloading the SDK components that I actually need/want to use. So I did that, and got the compressed .zip file unpacked and ready to be used. Included in it was something new that I hadn’t seen the last time I downloaded the SDK (which was back prior to the first Android handsets being sold), and that was the SDK Setup.exe file. I read the readme.txt file that was included with it and it informed me that the Android SDK no longer comes shipped with the platforms needed to compile your code against, but rather includes the SDK Setup.exe tool for downloading the platforms for you. Ok, that seems convenient. So I have my SDK unpacked and ready to be used, I didn’t touch the SDK Setup.exe, I assumed I’d be using it at a later point in time. Once the development environment is setup correctly.

Next I downloaded Eclipse Galileo with Java EE and unpacked it into my development directory. Once this step was completed I moved onto the next part of Google’s documentation explaining how to set my environment up. I launched Eclipse and installed the Google ADT as per their instructions. Restarted Eclipse and found that I now had a Android Project that I could build under the New->Project dialog. I then went into the Window->Preferences and set the SDK directory as per the documentations instructions.

I created a new project, following the directions outlined in their Hello World example and wouldn’t you know it, there wasn’t any supported Platforms installed. No problem right? I know how to solve this, start up the SDK Setup.exe and download a new platform. Alright, so I did that, I downloaded Version 2.0 of the OS and when it was done I had three items in total installed. Android Platform 2.0, Documentation for Android and the Android SDK Tools. Next I returned to my Eclipse, and created the new project and the platform was now available. So I setup the project and clicked finish. I now have a Android application sitting in my Eclipse waiting to be compiled.

This is where my issue started, and has yet to be resolved. I wanted to test the freshly created project, so I went to Run->Run Configurations and created a new Android Configuration. I called it the name of my project, and selected my project in the Project field. Next I clicked the Target tab, and noticed that there wasn’t any AVD’s available, so I selected the Manager… button and created myself a new AVD using Android 2.0 and no additional hardware options where applied to it. I set it’s SD memory size to 1028MB (1gb) and created it. Returning to Eclipse I found my AVD under the Target list now. I selected it, clicked ‘Apply’ and then ‘Start’ to start my AVD.

Now, the Android OS is booted all the way up, and I’m greeted with a couple error messages. I noticed that they where related to messaging and assumed that this was due to this being an emulator and not on a wireless providers network. I selected Force Quit and then returned to Eclipse and clicked Run on the Configuration window.

It’s at this point that I receive an error within Eclipse stating the following:

Your Project contains error(s), please fix them before running your application

How is this possible? The application is freshly created, the AVD was created without error, and the SDK path has been supplied to the Eclipse SDK. I’ve re-installed everything over and over, and always arrive at the same issue. When I open the Error Log within Eclipse, I have the following two errors.

The installable unit
org.eclipse.ui.win32.translated_hose_properties
is missing the filename property."

The installable unit
org.eclipse.persistence.jpa.equinox.weaving.translated_host_properties
is missing the filename property.

I’m not sure where to go from here, I’m seeking someone’s assistance in the matter, as I don’t even know what those properties are for. I’m not an Eclipse or Java person so this has me confused.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Carlos David
    March 3, 2010 at 10:24 PM

    Mmm, recently I downloaded Eclipse Galileo J2EE release, and I have the same error in my workspace log… I found your blog searching in google… but I am not developing for android, only I am developing a jsf/ejb application, I think that the error that you show in this entry doesn’t concern to your application error, maybe you have an classpath project error.

    Bye,

    CDS

  2. OppfinnarJocke
    June 19, 2010 at 10:46 PM

    You can no longer trust this http://developer.android.com/resources/tutorials/hello-world.html. It seems Android 2.2 has superseded the writings there. I have to click “Menu” to have my “Hello World” shown. Also, the bug they try to introduce for debugging is immediately caught by Eclipse, so the example is silly. Furthermore, I put an apostrophe in my string resource, and this was flagged by Eclipse as an error concerning “overrides android.app.Activity.onCreate”, totally useless error message… There’s still some mileage to get to a functional IDE…

    • June 21, 2010 at 4:45 AM

      Yes there is. Windows Phone 7 at least has a solid IDE behind it to develop with.

  3. Eric
    September 29, 2010 at 2:22 AM

    Project > Clean from the menu should do the trick.

    • awdkam
      December 4, 2010 at 4:16 PM

      Thank you!!! MAGIC DUDE, that worked!

    • Bill
      March 14, 2011 at 7:23 PM

      sweet! – worked great – thanks

  4. November 12, 2010 at 12:36 PM

    Thanks! Project -> clean did the trick. I was getting this same anomalous error with no clues. Guess Eclipse aint perfect.

  5. karthik A R
    February 12, 2011 at 12:30 PM

    Project -> clean
    thanks this worked great

  6. Joe
    February 21, 2011 at 7:41 PM

    Overall the Android SDK is the cat’s meow. As a seasoned Java and Eclipse user, I found it nearly effortless to get going. The only things to get used to are some of the nuances of the Eclipse IDE. Though it has a ton of options and settings, you can do most anything with it once you know your way around. Perhaps looking into some Eclipse tutorials online would be of great help to you.

    For comparison’s sake, note that other phone dev environments like iOS and Windows Phone will run only on an Intel Mac or a Windows machine respectively, while Eclipse and Android SDK will run on any box or processor (Linux, Mac, Windows). This itself is great since you don’t need to buy a computer to make an app, like your would with iOS.

    • February 21, 2011 at 8:51 PM

      While I love my iPhone, I do hate the fact that developers are forced to use an OS and platform that only 10% of the market even own. With Android, you can even use Googles AppInventor to develop your applications within a web browser. They are much more developer friendly than Apple.

  7. Kiren Pillay
    April 24, 2011 at 8:43 AM

    I had this issue because some dependencies where missing which I deleted from the file system. Check out the projects classpath and I found 2 dependencies missing, fixed it and voila!

  1. January 15, 2010 at 11:39 PM
  2. January 2, 2011 at 6:40 AM

Leave a Reply

